Ice racing

Ice speedway is a developed form of motorcycle speedway racing, featuring racing on frozen surfaces. The sport uses bikes enhanced for the terrain. Participants can compete at international level.

The majority of Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme sanctioned team and individual meetings are held in Russia, Sweden and Finland, but events are also held in the Czech Republic, Germany, the Netherlands, and occasionally other countries. Countries that dominated and won the majority of titles in Individual Ice Racing World Championship (held since 1966) and Team Ice Racing World Championship (held since 1979) were the USSR and since 1991—Russia.

Nikolay Krasnikov is a Russian twenty times ice speedway world champion. Krasnikov won eight consecutive Individual Ice Speedway World Championship titles from 2005 until 2012 and twelve Team Ice Racing World Championship titles with Russia from 2004 until 2016. He is regarded as one of the leading ice speedway riders of all-time.

photo: Krzysztof Węgrzwieniecki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.